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Located at:  28 W. State Street, 13th Floor, Trenton, New Jersey 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE COMPLETION OF FORM PFD-1  

1. Who must file the Form PFD-1? When is the form filed?  

Every candidate for the office of Governor and every candidate for the Senate or General Assembly shall file a financial 
disclosure statement on or before the tenth day following the last day for filing a petition to appear on the 
ballot. Candidates that are filling a vacancy must also file a PFD on or before the tenth day following the filing of 
the certificate to fill a vacancy. Also, every candidate for the office of Lieutenant Governor shall file a financial 
disclosure statement on or before the 30th day following the day such candidate is selected by the candidate for the 
office of Governor of the same political party.  

*Please note that the Office of Legislative Services also requires a personal financial disclosure form from sitting 
legislators every May. Questions regarding that particular filing should be directed to Legislative Counsel at (609) 
847-3901.  

2. What time span does Form PFD-1 cover?  

The calendar year preceding the election. For the 2015 election, the calendar year of coverage is January 1 to December 
31, 2014.  

3. What must be reported?  

a. The source of earned income totaling more than $1,000 in the following categories: salaries, bonuses, royalties, fees, 
commissions, and profit sharing. You are not required to report amounts.  

b. The source of unearned income totaling more than $1,000 in the following categories: rents, dividends, and any other 
income received from named investments, trusts, and estates. You are not required to report amounts.  

4. Whose income is reportable?  

The income of the candidate (you) as well as the income of members of your household (your spouse residing in the 
same domicile and any dependent children).  

5. What is the mailing address for the Form PFD-1?  

If using regular, US mail, send the Form PFD-1 to:  

New Jersey Election Law Enforcement Commission, P.O. Box 185, Trenton, NJ 08625-0185  

If you plan to hand-deliver the form or use an overnight mail service, the street address is 28 West State Street, 13th Floor, 
in Trenton, NJ 08608.  

6. If I am a lawyer, physician, dentist or other type of professional who performs services for a fee, 
must I list the name of every client or patient who has paid a fee?  

No. Individual names need not be listed. However, the name of the law firm, medical group, or professional association 
should be included.  

7. What do I do if I am unclear about the reporting requirements?  

a. Review the enclosed materials. If you have any questions, please contact the Compliance Division at (609) 292-8700 or 
toll free within New Jersey at 1 (888) 313-3532 any business day between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.  

b. Note also that you may request that the Commission provide you with an advisory opinion on a given set of facts or 
circumstances. If you wish to obtain an advisory opinion, please contact the staff of the Commission to obtain the 
Advisory Opinion Request Form, or print the form from the Commission's website at www.elec.state.nj.us.  

Schedule I – Earned Income  

1. Review each category in the left-hand column (Salary, Bonus, Royalties, Fees, Commissions, and Profit Sharing). If 
you either alone or with your spouse and/or dependent children have earned, in the aggregate, more than $1,000 in 
any category, check “yes.” Identify the recipient (Candidate, Spouse and/or Child).  



2. Identify the source(s). Provide the address of the source. Note: only identify those sources that exceeded $100 when 
identifying the source.  

NOTE: THE PFD-1 DOES NOT REQUIRE YOU TO REPORT THE ACTUAL AMOUNT RECEIVED.  

3. Income received from a public body, other than from the State of New Jersey, must be included under the category of 
Earned Income.  

Schedule II – Unearned Income  

1. Follow the same general directions for Schedule I. Schedule II categories are: Rents, Dividends, and Other Income.  

2. When reporting rental income, use the gross rental amount without deducting any expenses.  

3. No address need be provided if a dividend is a listed security.  

4. If any of the unearned income reported under these categories is received by joint owners, please report the 
proportionate share for you, your spouse, and/or dependent child.  

Schedule III – Honorariums and Fees in Excess of $100  

1. List the name and address of any payer of fees or honorariums received by you, your spouse, and/or dependent child 
in compensation for personal appearances, speeches, or writings totaling more than $100 from any one source.  

2. Provide a brief description of the event or occasion.  

Schedule IV – Reimbursements in Excess of $100  

1. List the name and address of any payer who reimbursed you, your spouse, and/or dependent child in excess of $100 
for travel, subsistence, or facilities provided in kind.  

2. Describe the nature or occasion for the reimbursement.  

NOTE: DO NOT LIST REIMBURSEMENTS FROM THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY, A POLITICAL SUBDIVISION 
THEREOF, A PRINCIPAL EMPLOYER, OR A NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATION.  

Schedule V – *Gifts Valued In Excess of $250  

1. Report the name and address of the donor of any gift of more than $250 in value from any one source.  

2. Identify the recipient (you, your spouse, and/or dependent child).  

3. Gifts between you, your spouse, or dependents are not reportable.  

*"Gift" means any money or thing of value received other than as income, and for which a consideration of equal or 
greater value is not received, but does not include any political contribution reported as otherwise required by law, 
any loan made in the ordinary course of business, or any devise, bequest, intestate estate distribution or principal 
distribution of a trust or gift received from a member of a person's household or from a relative within the third degree 
of consanguinity of the person or his spouse, or from the spouse of that relative. "Relative" means a son, daughter, 
grandson, granddaughter, father, mother, grandfather, grandmother, great grandfather, great grandmother, brother, 
sister, nephew, niece, uncle, or aunt. Relatives by adoption, half-blood, marriage or re-marriage shall be treated as 
relatives of the whole kinship. "Member of household" means the spouse of a candidate for the Office of Governor or 
of a candidate for the Senate or General Assembly residing in the same domicile and any dependent children.  

Schedule VI – Certain Lands/Buildings  

1. If you, your spouse, and/or dependent child own, hold, or control an interest in any land or buildings in a city authorizing 
casino gambling, describe the interest and list the address of the land or building.  

2. Identify the person who owns, holds, or controls the interest in the land/building (candidate, spouse, and /or dependent 
child). 
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